Mourning

It’s been almost 10 years since Sept. 11, and it’s been interesting for me to discover how people are still grieving over what happened that day. I’m not talking about the thousands of people who lost loved ones on that day, but folks who didn’t know anyone who died. It’s a quiet kind of grief and one that many say will never evaporate – at least not for several decades.

While in Hilliard, Ohio, I met a group of people who were very kind and really wanted to share their feelings about 9/11:

Carla Gilkerson, a 54-year-old school bus driver, sits at a table with friends at Abner’s diner on Main Street in this small Ohio town. She’s never been to New York City and doesn’t know a soul who died on Sept. 11 — but talk of the terror attacks a decade ago immediately moves her to tears.

Step outside of Abner’s and there, across the road at Main and Center Streets, is one of the largest Sept. 11 memorials outside the attack sites; a granite monument etched with all the victims’ names, surrounded by four giant pieces of World Trade Center steel.

Gilkerson often walks and bikes past the memorial, stopping to run her finger over the names. “I feel like I knew them,” she said. “And that I can keep their memory alive.”

That’s from an article I wrote on how Americans are still publicly mourning Sept. 11. Story here.